↑ Return to Children

Book Awards & Winners

Book Awards and Winners


There are four major children’s book awards. They are:

The Caldecott Award:

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association,to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.


“This Is Not My Hat,” illustrated and written by Jon Klassen, is the 2013 Caldecott Medal winner.

This is not my hat


The five Caldecott Honor Books were: “Creepy Carrots!” illustrated by Peter Brown and written by Aaron Reynolds, “Extra Yarn,” illustrated by Jon Klassen written by Mac Barnett , “Green,” illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, “One Cool Friend,” illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo, “Sleep Like a Tiger,” illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski and written by Mary Logue.



The Geisel Award

The Geisel Award, named after Dr. Seuss, is given annually by the American Library Association to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.


“Up, Tall and High!” written and illustrated by Ethan Long, is the Seuss Award winner.

up tall and high


Three Geisel Honor Books were named: “Let’s Go for a Drive!” written and illustrated by Mo Willems, “Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons” by Eric Litwin, created and illustrated by James Dean and “Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover,” written and illustrated by Cece Bell.




The Newbery Award


The Newbery Medal was named for British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


“The One and Only Ivan,” written by Katherine Applegate, is the 2013 Newbery Medal winner.


Three Newbery Honor Books also were named: “Splendors and Glooms” by Laura Amy Schlitz, “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon” by Steve Sheinkin and “Three Times Lucky” by Sheila Turnage.




The Nutmeg Award

The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children in grades 4-8 to read quality literature and to choose their favorite from a list of ten nominated titles. The children of Connecticut vote during the month of April for their favorite Nutmeg nominated book, and the winner is announced in May.


deep and dark“Deep and Dark and Dangerous” by Mary Downing Hahn was chosen as the 2012 Nutmeg Award Winner. The 2013 winner will be voted on in April of 2013.