↑ Return to Award Winners

Odyssey Award

What is the Odyssey Award?


This annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States. The selection committee may also select honor titles.

2014 Winner


Scowler by Daniel Kraus and narrated by Kirby Heyborne

scowler audiobook

Nineteen-year-old Ry Burke, his mother, and little sister eke out a living on their dying family farm. Ry wishes for anything to distract him from the grim memories of his father’s physical and emotional abuse. Then a meteorite falls from the sky, bringing with it not only a fragment from another world but also the arrival of a ruthless man intent on destroying the entire family. Soon Ry is forced to defend himself by resurrecting a trio of imaginary childhood protectors: kindly Mr. Furrington, wise Jesus, and the bloodthirsty Scowler.



2014 Honor Recordings

Better Nate than Ever written and narrated by Tim Federle

Creepy Carrots! by Aaron Reynolds

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell and narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra

Matilda by Roald Dahl and narrated by Kate Winslet